An image of recursion: first approximations

20 February 2010

Inspired by recursion hell, I thought I should have a go at contriving some recursive images of my own. My plan was simple. Surely all I had to do was hook up an external monitor, open the Mac Photo Booth application and place the monitor facing the screen of the laptop. In this way I thought I should able to create an instant Droste effect. But when when I pressed the ‘take photo’ button, all I got was a white screen as if I’d overloaded the system.

In the end I had to resort to the unsatisfactory solution of using a third device, viz my camera. It was difficult to get the two screens parallel while at the same time keeping the camera out of the picture:

This next one was a bit better in terms of the angle but didn’t show the recurring image as well.

At the end of the day, I wonder if I could achieve better results more simply just by using the screen-grab feature.

…I could end up being here all night at this rate.

Leave a Reply

